Best Desktop Enviroments

When it comes to the how my distro looks, I’m very picky. This is why my desktop environment matters so much to me.

My Favorite

KDE is by far my favorite desktop. Why?  One word. Customization. KDE Is definitely the most custom distribution with all the built in customization options. KDE is great for the person who loves customization but can compromise with using a GUI which looks a little old-ish (yes I think Plasma looks old-ish).

Manjaro KDE

My current KDE configuration on Manjaro (its near stock)

BEST FOR WINDOWS USERS

I think for a windows user Cinnamon will feel similar with the customization level being not too high but not too low. The big menu will also feel familiar.

cinnamon-ubuntu

Cinnamon running on Ubuntu

BEST FOR MAC USERS

Pantheon

Pantheon desktop on Elementary OS Freya beta 1

For a Mac user Pantheon desktop would be perfect. It’s very simple with a Mac like top-bar and a basic app launcher. At the bottom of the screen there is a Mac like dock. Pantheon is native to Elementary OS.

2 comments

  1. S B · August 9, 2015

    I’m totally floored by the knowledge you have put across in your blogs over the last 2 weeks, absolutely mind boggling! In fact so mind boggling that I’m not sure which flavour of Linux i should load, though the blog above helped somewhat.
    You could help immensely by making a ‘grid comparison’ of the objective features of various distros. The subjective features can also be itemised but left to the readers to decide which suits their preferences.
    One more way you could help out older readers is to create a glossary of commonly used terms. For instance I can’t figure out what is KDE…my bad, but you could whisper a prompt.
    FROM NOW ON YOU ARE LINUX MASTER!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Armaan · August 9, 2015

      I definitely should make a chart! Might make one soon! KDE is a desktop environment, it’s not your distro. The desktop environment is the graphical part. So when you get a new distro you can choose between many desktop environments. It defines how your distro looks. Hopefully that wasn’t too confusing. 🙂 EDIT: Just made a chart so go check it out! j.mp/distrocompare

      Like

Leave a Reply

